The name Dempo has been an inseparable part of Goan history, going back in time at least half a millennium. The Sinai Dempos were known then for their large-scale agriculture, imports and trading in diverse products, as also underwriting.
The Dempo Business House broke ground in 1941 with its pioneering iron ore mining and export venture V S Dempo & Co. Pvt. Ltd. founded by late Vasantrao S. Dempo and his brother late Vaikunthrao S. Dempo. There has been no looking back ever since.
With its range of businesses, and the Group’s enduring CSR endeavours the Dempo involvement in the socio-economic make-up of Goa is broad and deep. Today, Dempo continues, as a forward-looking conglomerate, to inspire trust, regionally, and globally.

Following are the group companies running under the umbrella of Dempo Group of Companies:

  • Dempo Ship Building and Engineering Pvt. Ltd.
  • Goa Carbon Ltd.
  • Dempo Industries Pvt. Ltd.
  • Aparant Iron and Steel Pvt. Ltd.
  • Hindustan Foods Ltd.
  • Dempo Travels Pvt. Ltd.
  • Dempo Sports Club Pvt. Ltd.
Shrinivas Dempo 1

At present the Dempo group is progressing under able guidance and chairmanship of Mr. Shrinivas V. Dempo son of late Vasudeva V. Dempo. A Post graduate in Commerce from Sydenham College, Mumbai and MBA from Carnegie Mellon University, USA, Mr. Shrinivas Dempo joined the family business initially as Management Trainee and later on became Vice-President (Corporate Affairs) where he aligned the managerial practices of businesses of the Dempo Group to globalised ways of doing modern businesses. Mr. Dempo was called upon to take charge of the Group in challenging circumstances following the untimely demise of his father, Mr Vasudeva V Dempo in late 1998.Mr Dempo’s leadership can be seen to have made a significant difference to the House of Dempo. A conglomerate with a combined turnover of Indian Rupees Two Thousand Four Hundred Million (US $ 51 Million) achieved a turnover of Rupees Twenty Thousand Million (US $ 426 Million) at the end of Fiscal 2009.

His stewardship marked by a rapid expansion of the existing businesses, the benchmarking of products and processes to international standards in quality and environment management, and the introduction of progressive people management systems, enterprise resource planning and corporate sustainability reporting into his businesses, ensuring that a family-run business house metamorphosed into a professionally-streamlined group of forwardlooking enterprises.

The philanthropic attitude of the House of Dempo saw the foundation of the Dempo Charities Trust (DCT). The establishment of DCT emphasis the tremendous interest of the House of Dempo in educational advancement for people of Goa. The Dempo Charities Trust today manages five educational institutions which include:
Srinivasa Sinai Dempo College of Commerce and Economics, Altinho, Panaji.
Dhempe College of Arts and Science, Miramar.Vasantrao Dempo Higher Secondary School of Arts and Science, Miramar
Voicuntrao Sinai Dempo Higher Secondary School of Commerce, Miramar.Dempo High School of Science, Miramar.
The Trust also contributes significantly to the promotion of art and culture in the state of Goa and provides funding assistance for encouraging research in various disciplines. It has instituted number of scholarships for the benefit of student community and provides support to the co-curricular activities of all its institutions.

Following are the members of the Governing Board of the institution

  1. Shri Shrinivas v.Dempo   -Chairman
  2. Smt. Pallavi S.Dempo   -Member
  3. Shri. Manuel V.Rebello   -Member
  4. Dr. Damodar Bhonsule   -Member
  5. Shri. G. Balasubramaniam   -Member
  6. Shri. G. R. Sardesai   -Member
  7. Shri. Pandurang R.Nadkarni   -Member
  8. Dr. (MS) Radhika Shrikant Nayak(Principal)   -Member
  9. Shri. Sunil Prabhudesai   -Member-Secretary

Following are the members of the Local Managing Committee of the institution

  1. Shir. Shrinivas V.Dempo
  2. Smt. Pallavi S. Dempo
  3. Shri. M. V. Rebello
  4. Shri. G. Balasubramaniam
  5. Shri. G. R. Sardesai
  6. Dr. Damodar Bhonsule
  7. Shri. P. R. Nadkarni
  8. Shri. Sunil Prabhudesai
  9. Ms. Nutan Nayak
  10. Dr. Pravin Gaonkar
  11. Shri. Uday Kamat
  1. Shir. Shrinivas V.Dempo
  2. Smt. Pallavi S. Dempo
  3. Shri. M. V. Rebello
  4. Shri. G. Balasubramaniam
  5. Shri. G. R. Sardesai
  6. Dr. Damodar Bhonsule
  7. Shri. P. R. Nadkarni
  8. Shri. Sunil Prabhudesai
  9. Dr. Harip Khanapuri
  10. Ms. Aruna Mesquita e Noronha
  11. Shri. Uday Kamar